Getting my feet wet

feet

Being a “big picture” person, I am struggling with my lack of a big picture for this blog. I wish I had the clarity of focus many blogs possess, but those are usually people with a particular expertise they wish to share, like cooking, building furniture, photography, or with a difficult life event they wish to share, such as battling cancer or dealing with the loss of a loved one. This blog does not serve either of those purpose. Instead, I have freedom to explore, especially in relation to the topics of my class, which is entitled Computers and Composition. The pressure unfolds though with an immediate audience, my classmates and professor, who will read these posts and whether they want to or not, whether consciously or unconsciously, they will form opinions about me based on what I write. Ideally, we are community of educators or writers sharing ideas, but in the age of technology, every post I write becomes another part of my digital footprint. My greatest concern is not really knowing what to say or not really having anything significant to say. I hope those fears subside a little more with each post. So here’s to getting my feet wet. As I often have to do at the beach, I am going to get wet slowly, in hopes of avoiding the shock of the cold, unknown waters.

 

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Musings & Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful, peaceful and reflective blog! I was just thinking the same thing you said: I wonder how the comments that I make, and how the posts that I add will change over the course of time.

  2. Well said! I love the picture and the way you related such a reflective topic to “getting your feet wet”.

Leave a Reply

