Wow…who knew?

I attended the Southeast TYCA (Two Year Colleges of English Association) conference here in Tampa, FL, last weekend. One of the sessions I attended was presented by one of my colleagues, Dr. Rick Gaspar. His session was entitled, “Becoming a Digital Sherpa.” If you are interested, you can view the accompanying PowerPoint for his presentation here on his blog. There were two images he showed that overwhelmed and excited me at the same time, both related to the number of social media sites that exist presently. Here is the more organized image of the two, which breaks down social media sites by their primary function:

Image

On one hand, I am overwhelmed. I mean who knew there were so many social media sites? I surely did not! I know the handful most people know: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Blogger, WordPress, Delicious, YouTube, LinkedIn, Flickr. I do feel some relief that most of the ones I know cover a vast area of the different functions and purposes. One area I realize I am deficient in is my knowledge of social media gaming sites; although, I think I know some not listed here, such as Words with Friends, Scramble, etc. As I stated though seeing this list also excites me. Why? Because I love technology, and especially social media, so knowing that there is still so much to learn makes me thrilled to know I have many more sites and apps to discover. Now, I just need to find the time. Of course, that is easier said than done.

Posted on March 8, 2014, in Musings & Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

